Digg.com and Wikipidia

The idea of a user controlled community for a news Webs site gained popularity with Digg.com. People like to be informed and have some power and/or control over the information they read and share.
A negative aspect of a news site that organizes its stories using user imputs is that the information can lose validity and be easily manipulated as happened with Digg.com. In October 2004, Kevin Rose and Owen Byrne, Ron Gordotzky and Jay Adelson created Digg.com, the site rapidly gained many users and popularity, which means many users had the power to share, change and manipulate the information. At one point the increased of posts cause a phenomenon called the “ Dig Effect”, this “”effect” caused a increased traffic to a linked website that caused many web sites to slow down or crash.
Many giants social media like Facebook would learn from Digg.com mistakes and avoid any negative views to other web sites. Reputation and veracity are crucial for the success of any social media, so it will be a low possibility to see another fate like Digg.com happening again. The next social media giant will work with the users’ needs; offering diversity, creativity and fun without affecting others sites, and do not changing the truth.
digg

Wikipeadia is one of the most famous web sites that many students use while doing researches. Honestly I prefer to do not use Wikipidea for , my research, important papers or projects. I believe Wikipidia is great for an insight into a topic, but not to use it as a reference or to take it as the completely truth. It is difficult to have a clue and decide what part to believe and what part to put on the site when the information that you are looking for is completely new, which means is easy to manipulate minds by using and mixing truth and false information in the web.
I have never made a change to Wikipedia, and if I see an obvious mistake I would probably only change if it affects me directly in some way like religion, politic, or affect my reputation or someone that I know. Also, if I decide to change any mistake I would have to show proof of what is right and wrong, so I would have to consider it and take my time in order to do not make a mistake. As many people can edit the entries in Wikipidia I take it as a curse, because many uneducated people can be easily manipulate and believe whatever they read on only what page. In order to get to the truth and have valid information we should all learn how to find information, compare and analyze it.
wikipidia

Leave a comment